Archetype

'In the stunning first volume of a two-book series that will appeal to readers of William Gibson and Philip K. Dick, Emma wakes with her memory wiped clean. Her husband, Declan—a powerful and seductive man—narrates the story of her past, but Emma’s dreams contradict him. They show her war, a camp where girls are trained to be wives, and love for another man. Something inside warns her not to speak of these things, but the line between her dreams and reality is about to shatter forever. Dive into M.D. Waters' Thrilling Sci-Fi Novel, Archetype'

Free Preview

Enter your email address below for a free preview.

Summary

Emma wakes in a hospital, with no memory of what came before. Her husband, Declan, a powerful, seductive man, provides her with new memories, but her dreams contradict his stories, showing her a past life she can’t believe possible: Memories of war, of a camp where girls are trained to be wives, of love for another man. Something inside her tells her not to speak of this, but she does not know why. She only knows she is at war with herself. Suppressing those dreams during daylight hours, Emma lets Declan mold her into a happily married woman and begins to fall in love with him. But the day Noah stands before her, the line between her reality and dreams shatters. In a future where women are a rare commodity, Emma fights for freedom but is held captive by the love of two men – one her husband, the other her worst enemy. If only she could remember which is which….

Reviews

5/5
“A twisty, thought-provoking futuristic tale that unnerves and enthralls.”
Family Circle
5/5
"Archetype is the literary equivalent of a big-screen blockbuster with its beautiful but deadly heroine, tragic love triangle and grim futuristic setting. The closest thing in print may by Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, but Emma is Offred with mixed martial arts training...Archetype finished with a cliffhanger made even more tantalizing by Dutton's promise to publish the sequel, Prototype, in six months. The prospect has me more excited than the next "Hunger Games" movie."
Associated Press
5/5
"Emotional involvement powers this absorbing gothic thriller in science fiction trappings."
Publishers Weekly
5/5
"Readers looking for a great thriller with a strong female protagonist mixed with a hint of science fiction should pick this up immediately."
Library Journal (starred review)

M.D. Waters

About the Author

M.D. Waters is an acclaimed author of science fiction novels. She is best known for her novel, Archetype. In this captivating story, Waters takes readers on a thrilling journey as Emma embarks on a quest to uncover her mysterious past. With its captivating plot and stunningly crafted characters, Archetype is sure to be an instant classic. M.D. Waters lives in Maryland with her two boys. You can also find her writing USA Today Bestselling romance and fantasy as Misty D. Waters.

Archetype

"M.D. Waters has given us that rare and wonderful action heroine who possesses both nerve and emotional depth. That rich characterization combined with an intricately crafted sci-fi mystery made Archetype an enthralling debut that I couldn't put down." –#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Richelle Mead